Who Needs It? Challenge #1: Fess Up

Standard

veggiesausagebuttonI hate clutter with a fierce passion. Generally, I’m pretty good at keeping stuff off of counters and out of sight because it bothers me so very much.

Which is great. The problem with this is:

1) In my quest to keep clutter out of sight, I just throw everything randomly in drawers, bins, and closets, which just moves the clutter out of sight without actually solving the problem of stuff.

2) My husband gets really annoyed with me when I move things that he wants to keep out within his sight out of my sight. There are lots of loud sighs and “where did you put the tax papers?” “where did you put my hammer?” “where is this random thing that I haven’t needed for a month but now require IMMEDIATELY so it should be on the counter where I left it?” Generally, I’ve thrown it in a drawer, and it takes me a while to figure out exactly where it is.

Anyway. For this post (the first from the Who Needs It? challenge) I am going to focus on this disaster that is my children’s toys. We currently live in a four-level townhouse (we sold our house and moved in April,┬áduring my blog hiatus). That means that we have toys in four different places – on the ground floor in the playroom, on the main level kitchen/living room, in Henry’s room on the third floor, and in Violet’s room on the top floor.

When we moved, I had grand plans of keeping different toys on different levels. Train tracks stay in Henry’s room. Violet’s dog Violet stays in Violet’s room. Our two enormous garbage trucks on the main floor, along with some legos and a few other toys. And then vast quantities of toys in the playroom.

The reality? We have half of a birthday cake in the playroom, one piece in the living room, two in Henry’s room, and one that has disappeared into the ether.┬áSo for this challenge I’d like to focus on toys and the playroom, in particular.

photo 1

The Tower of Toys

This is the Tower of Toys. Its existence doesn’t bother me, per se, it’s the execution. Basically toys are just haphazardly thrown into bins, puzzles are stored with half of the pieces in one bin and the other half on another floor. Crap is just randomly squeezed in there wherever it will fit (including on top of the tower).

Luckily, it is bolted to wall, lest the Tower of Toys rain down upon anyone playing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also have a bookshelf with books (which is fine), and then random stuff piled on and under it.

photo 2

More stuff

Also, Violet has outgrown that jumperoo and playmat, but instead of doing anything about that, I am just leaving them there, taking up about 10% of the floor space in the room. Genius!

So that’s it. I’d like to get some kind of sensible system for taking better care of toys and making sure that we can keep playing with them. (A puzzle is unusable without all the pieces, right?) I’d also like to get rid of the stuff we don’t need anymore. We’ll see how it goes! My current plan is to attack this issue then next time one of the kiddos is home sick from school. I think I can handle it with one kid around but not two.

2 responses »

  1. Ah, yes, clutter. Many years ago, before a toddler and the life-draining experience that is IF,, I used to have a house that looked like a model home. Currently, we live in chaos. We moved in August, and we had all of 3 days off work sans toddler in which to unpack, and I had a bad cold during that week. So we still have lots of boxes everywhere, and we can’t park even 1 car in the garage. (It’s a 3-car garage.) I’m taking 2 weeks off in February, with the primary goal being to get us at least semi-organized. I hope you are able to tame the toy clutter. Having to deal with it across 4 levels makes it that much harder, I’m sure.

  2. Tower of toys! When we were in the apt, it wasn’t so bad, but the upstairs/downstairs is really getting to me. ARGH! I am thinking we are going to have to have a whole month (at least) devoted to the kid’s clutter.

Leave a Reply

